About us

We help innovators solve some of the world’s most pressing societal problems

Who we are

Everyday, across the world, innovation helps to solve problems and improve lives, but with some issues new ideas just aren’t being acted on fast enough.

We are challengers. 
We are innovators. 
We are game changers.

We understand the most pressing of these, shine a spotlight where it matters and incentivise people to solve them.

Our challenges pinpoint a problem and offer a prize for the first or best solution.

We are independent and inspire the best placed, most diverse group of people to find solutions; support the boldest and bravest ideas to become real, and seed long term change to advance society and build a better future.

Check out the steps to running an effective challenge prize in our new Practice Guide.  

Two people sit at a table and plan their project


We are challengers and we are innovators, but we never work alone. We are part of the innovation foundation Nesta, and we work with governments, NGOs and businesses all over the world, as both advisory and delivery partners – helping them reach ideas far beyond their own boundaries.

Together we can be game changers.

The Team

Aisha Lysejko

Operations Manager

Andrea Richardson

Programme Manager

Bhavik Doshi

Research and Impact Coordinator

Caecilie Hougaard Pedersen

Assistant Programme Manager

Caroline Pradier

Assistant Programme Manager

Caroline Purslow

Programme Manager, Global Health Team

Catherine Thompson

Programme Manager, Open Up 2020 Challenge

Charlotte Macken

Prize Design Manager

Chris Gorst

Challenges Director

Constance Agyeman

Head of International Development and Education & Skills team

Daniel Berman

Head of the Global Health team

Elani Buchan

Programme Manager, Affordable Credit Challenge

Gary Fawdrey

Assistant Programme Manager

Hannah Picton

Assistant Programme Manager, Longitude Explorer Prize

Isobel Scott-Barrett

Assistant Programme Manager

Janet Southern McCormick

Programme Manager

Jo Tasker

Consultant, Longitude Explorer Prize

Kate Adams

Director of Operations and Special Projects

Kathy Nothstine

Lead, Future Cities

Kelly-Ann Yearley

PA to Executive Director

Laura Ferris

Programme Coordinator

Lauren Bellefeuille

Programme Coordinator, Global Health Team

Liz Vossen

Programme Manager

Louisa Shanks

Assistant Programme Manager

Lubaina Manji

Senior Programme Manager, Open Up 2020 Challenge

Maddy Kavanagh

Programme Manager, Longitude Explorer Prize

Nassin Watson

Programme Coordinator

Nicola Tulk

Programme Manager, Legal Access Challenge

Olivier Usher

Lead, Research and Impact

Orpa Haque

Assistant Programme Manager

Piotr Gierszewski

Senior Researcher

Rhys Herriott

Programme Manager, CareerTech Challenge

Ruth Neale

Assistant Programme Manager

Sally Nelson

Programme Coordinator

Sarah Holliday


Seoana Sherry-Brennan

Digital Communications and Prize Engagement Officer

Shannon Marie Harmon

Communications Manager

Tris Dyson

Executive Director

Zofia Jackiewicz

Assistant Programme Manager